Motivational and leadership books, workbooks, and CDs that will help you manage your career, build your business, create true wealth, and achieve your personal and professional goals. SparkStore.com is also the home of CourageWear – Apparel with Altitude!

Shopping Cart
basket content | checkout

Motivate Yourself for Success with these Books, Workbooks, and CDs. Values-Based Life and Leadership Strategies that Really Work.

Proven strategies for goal-setting, personal motivation, leadership development, and life success. You will learn how to:

  • Dream bigger and think more creatively.
  • Confront your fears with courage and determination.
  • Stop procrastinating and use your time more productively.
  • Overcome inner barriers holding you back from being your best.
  • Be more effective as a leader – and as a parent.
  • Achieve your most authentic goals.
  • Become the person you are truly meant to be.

SparkStore.com is your best source for motivational books, CDs, and other resources for leadership development, and success coaching and training.

Values-based life and leadership strategies:

Motivation:
Be your own Success Coach by applying the strategies in these books and CDs to your work and your life.

Leadership: Learn how you can be a more effective leader at work, at home, and in your community.

Goal-Setting: Stop cheating yourself with anemic goals and dreams!

Team-Building: Learn from the greatest leaders in history and fiction how to motivate your team for achievement.

Wealth and Money: Achieve your financial goals by living your values.

Spiritual and Emotional Strength: The ultimate benefit of values-based living is the emotional equanimity and spiritual peace that you gain.

 


Motivational book The Healing Tree.

Motivational book

Price: $14.95
Buy Now!


In the tradition of The Christmas Box and The Five People You Meet in Heaven, Joe Tye’s new book The Healing Tree is a heart-warming story that also includes an important life lesson. After a speeding drunk driver plowed into her car, killing her husband and smashing her legs, Carrie Anne Murphy looked down upon her broken body from a high corner of the emergency room as the trauma team fought desperately to save her life. When she made the decision to come back, Carrie Anne had no idea how much pain she would have to endure. She also could not have dreamed of the blessings that this tragedy would bring into her life – if she could only endure the pain.

Fortunately, Carrie Anne doesn’t have to cope alone. Mysterious Maggie, the hospital’s poetry therapist and mermaid for drowning souls, helps Carrie Anne reclaim her soul and find her voice. Losing her legs, Carrie Anne discovers, was what it took for her to stop running away from a dream that had been chasing her since she was in ninth grade – the dream of sharing her heart in the words of her poems.

One unique feature of this book is the original poetry of both Maggie and Carrie Anne.

Excerpt from the book:

You know the feeling you get when you’re sitting in your car at a stoplight, eyes straight ahead, minding your own business, and you can somehow tell that the person in the adjacent car is staring at you? That’s what it was like the first time I met Maggie. I’d been lying in my hospital bed staring at the clouds that never moved and the birds that didn’t fly, wondering if Mark was really up there somewhere beyond that fake sky, waiting for me to join him. Her voice came to me as a whisper in the woods.

“Would you like to hear your poem?”

Who knows how long she’d been standing there at my bedside waiting for the right moment to ask me that question. Gingerly turning my head to the left, I tried to make my eyes refocus. She was thin as a darning needle and had the wildest mane of red hair I’d seen outside of the zoo or a Dr. Seuss book. A redheaded dandelion with mint green eyes and the smile of a two-year-old who’s just been given an ice cream cone.

I squinted to see what was written on her T-shirt. When was the last time you did something for the first time? Looking at Maggie, I got the impression it was a struggle for her to stand in one place without vibrating, and that the last time she’d done something for the first time was about five minutes ago. “My poem?”

“Yeah. It’s one of the benefits of being a patient at Memorial Hospital. Room service poetry readings.” She opened the pink journal that had been tucked under her arm and held it in front of her, like one of those carolers you see in the Christmas pictures.

“So, you must be Maggie.” I stated the obvious.

Maggie flushed crimson and put her hand over her mouth, then touched my arm. “Oh, I’m sorry! I should have introduced myself. I’ve been here so many times – but you were always asleep.” She laughed and her eyes sparkled and the room must have warmed up by ten degrees. “Yeah, I’m Maggie. I’m one of the volunteers here. I specialize in writing poems for patients.” She gave me a conspiratorial wink. “That’s why I can get away without wearing one of those stuffy volunteer uniforms – they expect poets to be weird, you know.”

I shrugged. “I’ve never met a real poet before. So I guess I wouldn’t know.”
Maggie laughed again. “Oh, I’m not a real poet.” She leaned closer and half-whispered, “I’m really a mermaid.”

“A mermaid!” I didn’t know whether to laugh or press the nurse call button, since the obvious option of running away was not open to me.

“Yes,” she replied, evidently pleased with having elicited the desired reaction. “You know how mermaids rescue drowning sailors?”

I nodded, even though it was news to me that mermaids rescued drowning sailors. “Well,” she continued, “I rescue drowning souls.”

“You rescue drowning souls?”

“Yeah. There are lots of people drowning here. Drowning in pain and despair, drowning in hopelessness and self-pity. My poems are life preservers for drowning souls. Just a little something they can hang onto, something to keep them from sinking. You know, until they can swim on their own again.” Maggie looked down into the pages of her pink journal, then back at me. “Do you want to hear your poem?” She said it as though meeting a real live mermaid in your hospital room was no big deal.

I nodded. “Sure, Maggie. Read me my poem.”

She smiled, closed her eyes for a second as if composing herself, then said, “It’s called Angels on Earth.” She cleared her throat and tried to look serious. Then she read:

Make welcome the unwelcome guest.
Let her in through the hole in your heart.
Let go for a time what you cannot control.
Trust in God’s time a new path will unfold.

When you’re lost in the waves
you can’t see the beach;
when your soul has been splintered
help seems beyond reach.

So open your heart to the terror and madness.
Give new wounds time to become ancient scars.
Sing for yourself the songs of your sadness, and
share with new friends the words of your hope.

The snow in the mountains
will melt in the spring;
and angels on earth fly
with invisible wings.

SIGN UP FOR THE FREE SPARK PLUG NEWSLETTER:

Your e-mail:

Spark Plug newsletter is great ideas, information, and inspiration for achieving success by living your values.
Sample articles
Testimonials from Spark Plug readers